Welcome to Summoner’s Rift

“Welcome to Summoner’s Rift” are the words first heard upon loading into a match of the wildly popular free-to-play video game League of Legends (unless you’re playing 3v3, ARAM or Dominion and God help you if you’re playing Dominion).

The female announcer’s voice is ethereal, sultry, and vaguely British. Kathleen Turner meets Helen Mirren. That is to say, sexy. And I’m sure that’s a calculated choice by League of Legends (LoL) developer, Riot Games, given that the vast majority of the 65 million or so monthly players are male. I’m one of those male players, my summoner name is CrazyGiblets and I’ve been playing the game since a friend, summoner name Doctrorpheus, convinced me to give it a try (hey, it’s free after all) in the early summer of 2014 but I haven’t yet played LoL’s eminent game mode, ranked solo queue.

Playing ranked solo queue isn’t something I necessarily look forward to because the stakes are much higher than in the unranked blind pick matches I commonly play. In ranked solo queue status is on the line in, the eponymous all-important rankings that players identify themselves by depend not only on how well one performs but on whether one’s team wins or loses. It’s a lot of pressure. When, not if, you screw up you can expect your four teammates to let you know in the game’s integrated chat. The bad experiences can really eat at you with games lasting anywhere from 20-60 minutes.

But I also know that I’m missing out on the core experience of LoL by not playing ranked games. So with the 2015 ranked season upon us I’ve decided to jump into the deep end of the pool and see if I sink or swim. This is going to be a blog documenting that experience. For if I’m already going to spend too much time playing LoL, I might as well make something productive out of it. Or at least try.


My aim here is to create something people not intricately familiar with League of Legends can understand but one that LoL grinders will really appreciate. That may prove to be a tall order and I will adjust accordingly based on the feedback I receive. If I receive any.The tentative plan is to play at least one ranked game a day and follow up with several posts a week. We’ll see.

glhf (that’s an acronym for “good luck have fun” and the gentlemanly way to greet one’s teammates and opponents at the beginning of an LoL match, I also happen to think it’s a decent outlook to have on life in general),

-CrazyGiblets

9 thoughts on “Welcome to Summoner’s Rift

  1. Pingback: Day 1, Game 1 | Dispatches from the Rift: A Journal of League of Legends, Elo Hell, and Survival

  2. Pingback: Day 2, Game 2 | Dispatches from the Rift: A Journal of League of Legends, Elo Hell, and Survival

  3. Pingback: Day 3, Game 3 | Dispatches from the Rift: A Journal of League of Legends, Elo Hell, and Survival

  4. Pingback: Day 4, Game 4 | Dispatches from the Rift: A Journal of League of Legends, Elo Hell, and Survival

  5. Pingback: Day 5, Game 5 | Dispatches from the Rift: A Journal of League of Legends, Elo Hell, and Survival

  6. Pingback: Day 6, Game 6 | Dispatches from the Rift: A Journal of League of Legends, Elo Hell, and Survival

  7. Pingback: Day 7, Game 7 | Dispatches from the Rift: A Journal of League of Legends, Elo Hell, and Survival

Leave a Reply

